Mainistir Ros Comáin
Location within Ireland
|Other names||Ros-comain; Ros-chomon; Ros-camain; Ros-coman|
|Order||Canons Regular of Saint Augustine/Dominicans|
|Location||Ballypheasan, Roscommon, County Roscommon|
|Official name||Roscommon Abbey|
Roscommon Abbey is located in the southwest of Roscommon town.
Roscommon Abbey is an early monastic site, founded in the 6th century by St Comman, a disciple of Finnian of Clonard.
Roscommon Abbey was a monastery of the Augustinian Canons Regular — Arroasian founded after 1140, possibly with Arroasian reformation 1140-8 by Tairrdelbach Ua Conchobair at the instance of Saint Malachy.
Roscommon Abbey was plundered by William de Burgh in 1204 and burned by the Anglo-Normans in 1235 and 1247.
Roscommon Abbey was a Dominican priory founded in 1253 by Fedlim Ó Conchobair, king of Connacht. It was plundered by Mac William de Burgo 1260. It was hit by fire in 1270 and lightning in 1308.
On his death in 1265 Fedlim Ó Conchobair was interred in the abbey and his tomb was covered by an effigial slab which can still be seen in a niche in the north-east corner of the church. The effigy was carved between 1290 and 1300 and is one of only two Irish royal effigies surviving from this period.
- Gerrard, David (1 January 2004). "The Hidden Places of Ireland". Travel Publishing Ltd – via Google Books.
- "Roscommon Abbey - Attractions - Churches, Abbeys and Monasteries - All Ireland - Republic Of Ireland - Roscommon - Roscommon Town - Discover Ireland".
- "Roscommon Abbey".
- CHI. "The Dominican Friary of Roscommon Town, Co. Roscommon".