Polling Abbey

Polling Abbey (German: Kloster Polling) is a former monastery in Polling bei Weilheim, district of Weilheim-Schongau, in Upper Bavaria, Germany.

According to legend, the founder was Duke Tassilo III of Bavaria in about 750, but it seems more likely that the founders were members of the powerful Bavarian noble family of the Huosi.

Initially this was a Benedictine monastery, but later became a house of Augustinian canons. The abbey was dissolved during the secularization of 1803 and the buildings were mostly demolished between 1805 and 1807.

The important late Gothic abbey church with early Baroque stucco work by the Wessobrunn stuccoist Georg Schmuzer is now the parish church.

Part of what few buildings remained came into the possession of the Dominican sisters in 1892. The dispensary and the service block passed into private ownership.

The unique library of Polling Abbey was restored in 1970-1975 and may be visited by arrangement with the Verein der Freunde des Pollinger Bibliotheksaals e.V..

A hospice is also accommodated in the remaining premises on the former abbey site.


  • Hammermayer, Ludwig: Das Augustiner-Chorherrenstift Polling und sein Anteil an Entstehung und Entfaltung von Aufklärung und Akademie- und Sozietätsbewegung im süddeutsch-katholischen Raum (ca. 1717-1787) Paring 1997. ISBN 3-9805469-1-8
  • Milisterfer, Roland: Das Kloster Polling im 18. Jahrhundert. Polling 2004.
  • Matthias Memmel; Claudius Stein (ed.): "Ganz unbrauchbar..." Die Pollinger Pinakothek der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, München 2011. ISBN 978-3-926163-72-1

This article is issued from Wikipedia. The text is licensed under Creative Commons - Attribution - Sharealike. Additional terms may apply for the media files.