|Coordinates: 7°03′N 80°32′E|
|• Type||Urban Council|
|• Chairman||Nishantha Kumara Ranasingha|
|• Vice Chairman||Gamunu Sumathipala|
|• Land||262 km2 (101 sq mi)|
|Time zone||UTC+5:30 (Sri Lanka Standard Time Zone)|
|• Summer (DST)||UTC+6 (Summer time)|
The area was developed during the colonisation of the island by the British, as one of the colony's centres of coffee production.
In 1874 the railway line was extended from Kandy to Nawalapitiya, with the Nawalapitiya railway station opening on 21 December. The station serves as a terminus for a number of commuter trains, with all local trains stopping at the station. The station comprises three platforms and two siding loops. In 1885 the railway was extended to Nanu Oya.
The Nawalapitiya Division was established in 1876 and in 1878 a town council was established.
- Mills, Lennox A. (2012). Ceylon Under British Rule, 1795-1932. Routledge. p. 245. ISBN 9781136262647.
- Lawrie, Sir Archibald Campbell (1898). "A Gazetteer of the Central Province of Ceylon (excluding Walapane)". 2. G.J.A. Skeen, Government Printer, Ceylon: 69. Cite journal requires
- Ratnasinghe, Aryadasa (13 June 1999). "Train to Badulla". The Sunday Times. Retrieved 1 November 2019.
- Ellis, Royston (1 May 2016). "A Fascinating Journey". Sunday Times. Sri Lanka. Retrieved 20 May 2016.