Café Henry Burger
|Café Henry Burger|
The restaurant was opened in 1922 by Swiss immigrant Henry Burger. The business expanded to include a hotel, but the business was forced to close following the 1929 stock market crash. The restaurant reopened on Laval Street and in 1936 Burger died and his wife Marie-Anne Monnin took over the business. After the building was destroyed by a fire in 1942 it moved to its final location at 69 Rue Laurier.
The restaurant claimed to have served every prime minister since 1926, and in 2003 was indirectly involved in a public spending scandal regarding bills for meals at the restaurant claimed as expenses by public servants. In 2006 the restaurant closed.
- "Iconic eatery Cafe Henry Burger shuts its doors after 83 years". Ottawa Citizen. 11 January 2006. Archived from the original on 4 March 2016. Retrieved 27 February 2013.
- "Café Henry Burger". Architecture of Old Hull. Canadian Museum of Civilization. 11 October 2005. Retrieved 27 February 2013.