Blauwburgwal

The Blauwburgwal is a canal in Amsterdam between the Singel (at Lijnbaanssteeg) and the Herengracht (at Herenstraat). It is the shortest canal in the city center and part of the west Grachtengordel (canal belt).

Blauwburgwal
Blauwburgwal 22
Length.1 kilometres (0.062 mi)
LocationAmsterdam
Postal code1015
Coordinates52.376586°N 4.890597°E / 52.376586; 4.890597
East endSingel
ToHerengracht
Construction
Completion16th century

Halfway along the northeast side, the Langestraat meets the Blauwburgwal. The canal has two bridges, one beside Singel bridge 11 and the other beside Herengracht bridge 19.

History

The canal was dug at the end of the 16th century. Before the city expansion of 1612, the Blauwburgwal was called Blauwburgwal Lijnbaansgracht as an extension of Lijnbaanssteeg. When a new Lijnbaansgracht was created during the expansion, the name was changed to Blauwburgwal naar de Blauwe Brug. The Blauwe Brug (Blue Bridge) across the Singel is now called the Lijnbaansbrug.

On 11 May 1940 part of the Blauwburgwal was destroyed by a German bombing. Fourteen buildings were destroyed and 44 were killed.[1][2]

Architecture

The facade of Blauwburgwal 22 has an elevated bell-gable dating from 1669. The bell gable developed from the neck gable. This building was mainly built between 1660 and 1790.

Blauwburgwal 22 is unique in its kind. It is the only example of a raised bell gable: an extra step with a small claw piece. The gable has curved side walls ornamented with fruit and urns. The house is owned by the Hendrick de Keyser Association.

See also

Notes

    Sources

    This article is issued from Wikipedia. The text is licensed under Creative Commons - Attribution - Sharealike. Additional terms may apply for the media files.