Agia Pelagia

Agia Pelagia (Greek: Αγία Πελαγία, "Saint Pelagia") is a seaside fishing village built in the centre of a picturesque amphitheatric bay, 23 km northwest from Heraklion capital city of the island of Crete.

It takes its name from the homonymous church, in the Monastery of the Sebbathians, ruins of which are found at a distance of 1 km west of the village. The town also has sandy beaches that attract tourists.[1]

In Agia Pelagia there are the post-minoan graves and the University (Prtanion) of the 4th century BC which were found in 1970 at the site "Kladistos" or "Kladotos". Also there is a nearby cave, with the name "Evresi", where - according to legend - local people found the icon of Agia Pelagia.

In Agia Pelagia there are outcrops of blue-greenschist rock. This rock was quarried and used to pave streets and floors of Minoan palaces between 1650 and 1600 BC.[2]


  1. Hellander, Paul (2006). Greek islands (4 ed.). Lonely Planet. ISBN 1-74059-914-4.
  2. Tziligkaki, Eleni K. (2010). "Types of schist used in buildings of Minoan Crete" (PDF). Hellenic Journal of Geosciences. 45: 317–322. Retrieved December 1, 2018.

This article is issued from Wikipedia. The text is licensed under Creative Commons - Attribution - Sharealike. Additional terms may apply for the media files.