North America

North America is a continent. It is located entirely in the Northern Hemisphere and almost completely in the Western Hemisphere. North America has 23 countries and 22 territories.

Map of North America

It is bound by the Arctic Ocean to the north, the Atlantic Ocean to the east, South America to the south, and the Pacific Ocean to the west.


North America

Central America



North America


  • Of France
    • Clipperton Island
    • Guadeloupe
    • Saint Barthélemy
    • Saint Martin
  • Of the Netherlands
    • Aruba
    • Bonaire
    • Curaçao
    • Saba
    • Sint Eustatius
    • Sint Maarten
  • Of the United Kingdom
    • Anguilla
    • British Virgin Islands
    • Cayman Islands
    • Montserrat
    • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Of the United States
    • Navassa Island
    • Puerto Rico
    • United States Virgin Islands


Languages of the Americas

English and Spanish are the most widely spoken languages in North America.

English is spoken in Canada, the United States, and many island countries and territories. Spanish is spoken in Mexico, almost all of Central America (except Belize), Cuba, the Dominican Republic, and a few island countries and territories.

French is mostly spoken in Quebec, Canada and French territories. Danish is spoken in Greenland (a territory of Denmark). Haitian Creole (based on French) is spoken in Haiti.

Various native languages are spoken by minorities throughout North America.

Geography Portal — Everything about geography, continents, regions, geology, water and climate...
This article is issued from Vikidia. The text is licensed under Creative Commons - Attribution - Sharealike. Additional terms may apply for the media files.